Making Sonic Clouds: Granular Synthesis with Gen~ and MC / 18th May

Learn to build a granular synthesizer with MC and gen~

Course Instructor: Massimiliano Cerioni

Course level

Music Hackspace

Starts on: 18/05/2022 15:00 GMT

This workshop is live and recorded, and will be made available on-demand a few days after its live date. 

This workshop is a series of 2:

Session 1 – 2 hours: Wednesday 18th of May 4pm UK, 5pm Berlin, 8am LA, 11am NYC

Session 2 – 2hours: Wednesday 25th of May 4pm UK, 5pm Berlin, 8am LA, 11am NYC

Price is inclusive for both sessions

Gen~ offers unique audio processing capabilities to optimise complex Max patches for high performances.  In this workshop, you will build your own granular synthesizer by combining the MC and MCS objects with gen~, to run real-time patches with superior performance, allowing more complexity and reliability for live shows or sound design. This workshop aims to develop and consolidate the following practices and skills: granular synthesis, gen~ patching, and multichannel processing with MC.

What you'll learn

  • Understand the basics of granular synthesis
  • Make sonic grains in gen~
  • Explore MC and MCS objects properties
  • Build a custom granular synthesizer

Requirements

  • A computer and internet connection
  • A webcam and mic
  • A Zoom account
  • Access to a copy of Max 8 (i.e. trial or full license)

Course content

  • ---- Zoom link to live workshop / Wednesday 18th of May 4pm UK
  • ---- Open the course in Zoom to access all the features
  • ---- Zoom link to live workshop / Wednesday 25th of May 4pm UK
  • ---- Open the course in Zoom to access all the features

Who is this course for

  • For Max users who want to learn Granular Synthesis
  • Advanced Max users curious about Gen~ and MC and looking to improve their performance
  • Sound designers building complex, multi-channel custom systems

Useful links

About the workshop leader

Massimiliano Cerioni is a Berlin & Rome based AV composer, performer, sound designer and engineer. He is the founder of the independent audio software project Culto, which has released its first M4L device Simbiosi in 2021. He uses coding, augmented instruments and electronics to create compositions, performances and installations.