Getting Confident with CHOPs in TouchDesigner

Become confident in using CHOPS in TD.

Course Instructor: Function Store

Course level

Music Hackspace

Starts on: 14/09/2022 16:00 BST

{{ distance }}

Unlock full course & much more:

Just Curious

Getting Started

Going Deeper

Compare membership plans

Or just buy this single course:

FREE

Series of 2 workshops 

Wednesday 14th September 4pm UK, 5pm Berlin, 8am LA, 11am NYC

Thursday 15th September 4pm UK, 5pm Berlin, 8am LA, 11am NYC

In this workshop you will explore using CHOPS in creative and technical ways in TD.  You’ll look at how to create and manipulate channel data via a myriad of techniques. CHOPs provide a unique way of creating data for parameter automation. The combination of procedural editing of channel and sample data provides you with a wide range of creative techniques for visual experimentation. To attend this workshop, it is recommended that you have taken the free on demand course Getting Started with TouchDesigner.

What you'll learn

  • Workshop 1: Overview of the CHOP family
  • Workshop 1: Building blocks of a CHOP
  • Workshop 1: Interfacing a CHOP to other operators
  • Workshop 1: Explore practical examples using CHOPs
  • Workshop 2: Learn the Time Slicing concept
  • Workshop 2: Learn the most useful and underrated CHOPs
  • Workshop 2: Learn handling MIDI, sensor, and audio data
  • Workshop 2: Explore practical examples using CHOPs

Requirements

  • A computer and internet connection
  • A webcam and mic
  • A Zoom account
  • TouchDesigner latest version (non-commercial suffices)
  • A three button mouse

Course content

  • ---- Open the course in Zoom to access all the features
  • ---- Open the course in Zoom to access all the features

Who is this course for

  • Visual artists looking to enhance their use of CHOPs in TD
  • Visual artists who wish to create visuals in TouchDesigner using CHOP data

Useful links

About the workshop leader

Function Store (Dániel Molnár) is a Berlin based artist and developer creating interactive installations and audio-visuals. He has a software engineering background, diving deep into TouchDesigner and related tools in the past few years. He enjoys building complex systems and tools that are modular, reusable and user-friendly. He is working with agencies and musicians to create interactive experiences, live visuals and digital content, and has a YouTube channel where he shares some of his secrets.

What courses are you interested in?