Build A Drum Machine in Max - Feb 1st

Learn to program your own drum machine in Max.

Course instructor: Ned Rush

Course level

Music Hackspace

Starts on: 2022-02-01 18:00:00

This workshop is being postponed. We will confirm the new date by Friday 28th January. 

In this series, you will build a custom drum machine, explore drum synthesis techniques including how to make synth drums and use ADSR to fine tune each sound, and play them in a step sequencer. This series aims to provide you with suitable skills to deploy drum synthesis and step sequencing in the Max MSP environment.

Session 1
Tuesday 1st February 6pm UK / 7pm Berlin / 10AM LA / 1pm NYC
Session 2
Tuesday 8th February 6pm UK / 7pm Berlin / 10AM LA / 1pm NYC
Session 3
Tuesday 15th February 6pm UK / 7pm Berlin / 10AM LA / 1pm NYC
Session 4
Tuesday 22nd February 6pm UK / 7pm Berlin / 10AM LA / 1pm NYC

What you'll learn

  • Deploy various drum synthesis techniques
  • Apply various synthesis processing and manipulation techniques
  • Construct a step sequencer for rhythmic programming
  • Design a suitable UI

Requirements

  • A computer and internet connection
  • A web cam and mic
  • A Zoom account
  • Access to a copy of Max 8 (i.e. trial or full license)

Course content

  • ---- Feb 1, 2022 06:00 PM / Zoom
  • ---- Open the course in Zoom to acess all the features
  • ---- Open the course in Zoom to acess all the features
  • ---- Feb 8, 2022 06:00 PM / Zoom
  • ---- Feb 15, 2022 06:00 PM / Zoom
  • ---- Open the course in Zoom to access all the features
  • ---- Feb 22, 2022 06:00 PM / Zoom
  • ---- Open the course in Zoom to access all the features

Who is this course for

  • Students wanting to explore common techniques for drum synthesis using MSP objects.
  • Learn how to create a custom sequencer.
  • Build their final drum machine concept with bpatchers.

Useful links

About the workshop leader

Duncan Wilson (aka Ned Rush) is a musician, producer and content creator based in the UK. Whilst perhaps largely known for his Youtube channel, he has also released music independently as well developing content for Isotonik Studios.