Algorithmic Composition - Generative Arpeggios / July 3rd

Learn to create a system for randomly generating MIDI arpeggios.

Course Instructor: Samuel Pearce Davies

Course level

Music Hackspace

Starts on: 03/07/2022 16:00 BST

Sunday 3rd July 4pm UK, 5pm Berlin, 8am LA, 11am NYC

Duration: 2 hours

This workshop is live, and a recording will be made available on-demand a few days after the live date. 

In this workshop you will construct an algorithmic composition tool that can generate lists of numbers which can be used to drive any MIDI instrument, creating a variety of arpeggios to complement your compositional practice.

What you'll learn

  • Explore music theory axioms to define appropriate arpeggio parameters
  • Control MIDI instruments with Max messages
  • Manipulate lists of numbers effectively
  • Construct intuitive UI elements

Requirements

  • A computer and internet connection
  • A webcam and mic
  • A Zoom account
  • Access to a copy of Max 8 (i.e. trial or full license)

Course content

  • ---- Zoom link to be added closer to the date of the workshop

Who is this course for

  • Musicians and music programmers with an interest in including some algorithmic ideas into their compositions.

About the workshop leader