fbpx

Free Max courses & meetups

Music Hackspace and Cycling ’74 team up to deliver a monthly series of 4 workshops to help people learn the fundamentals of music programming with Max, and 4 monthly meetups where participants can share their work and learn from one another. 

Update 31st December, 10am: the initial two series of workshops for January and February 2020 are sold out. We have added another series for all Thursdays in February.

Getting Started with Max – Free

Get started with interactive audio and MIDI, and discover the possibilities of the Max environment. In this series of workshops, you will learn how to manipulate audio, MIDI, virtual instruments and program your own interactive canvas. 

Connect together Max’s building blocks to create unexpected results, and use them in your music productions. Through a series of guided exercises you will engage in the pragmatic creation of a basic MIDI sequencer device that features a wealth of musical manipulation options.

Learn from guided examples and live interactions with teachers and other participants. 

This series of online workshops aims to enable you to work with Max confidently on your own.

Next available course

Thursdays: 4th, 11th, 18th & 25th February @ 10am PST / 1pm EST / 6pm GMT / 7pm CET.

Max meetupsFree

Participate to Max meetups to share ideas and learn with other artists, coders and performers. Showcase your patches, team up with others to learn together, get help for a school assignment, or discover new things.  

The meetup runs with Zoom. The main session features short presentations from Max users. Breakout rooms are created on the spot on specific topics, and you can request a new topic at any time. 

In the breakout rooms, you can share your screen to show other participants something you’re working on, ask for help, or help someone else.

Everyone is welcome to propose a presentation. Just fill the form and you’ll be put on the agenda on a first come first served basis. 

Presentations should take no more than 5 minutes with 5 minutes Q&A and we’ll have up to 5 presentations at each meetup.

January meetups

Meetup 1 – Europe: Saturday 16th January @ 3pm UK time / 4pm CET.

Meetup 2 – Americas: Saturday 23rd January @ 3pm PST / 6pm EST.

Meetup 3 – Europe: Saturday 30th January @ 3pm UK time / 4pm CET.

February meetups

Registrations for February will open soon!

Meetup 1 – Americas: Wednesday 3rd @ 6pm PST / 9pm EST

Meetup 2 – Europe: Wednesday 10th @ 6pmUK time / 7pm 4pm CET

Meet up 3 – Americas: Wednesday 17th @ 6pm PST / 9pm EST

Meet up 4 – Europe: Wednesday 24th @ 6pmUK time / 7pm 4pm CET

More events to be announced in the coming weeks!