fbpx
Loading Events

Non-linear strategies for composing with Live & M4L – LIVE Session

 Monday 29th March 2021 6pm GMT

Date & Time: Monday 29th March 2021 6pm GMT / 7pm CET / 10am PST / 1pm EST

Level: Intermediate – Advanced

The creative path is not a straight line. In this workshop, you will develop a workflow focused on experimental approaches utilizing randomization, stochastic methods, polymeters, polyrhythms and more using Live and M4L. Experimental audio processing and non-linear mixing activities will be included in the compositional process to create unique sound qualities as well as overcoming creative blocks.

Session Learning Outcomes

By the end of this session a successful student will be able to:

  • Examine various forms of (non)linear compositional strategies

  • Identify approaches that provide musical contingency

  • Select Ableton’s techniques & M4L devices to use in the writing process

  • Design generative methods for complex compositional systems based on the Ableton and M4L environments

Session Study Topics

  • Randomization & Stochastic methods

  • Polymeters & polyrhythms

  • Racks, Audio & MIDI FXs chains

  • Max4Live LFO, Shaper, Buffer shuffler, Multimap pro

Requirements

  • A computer and internet connection

  • A web cam and mic

  • A Zoom account

  • Access to a copy of Ableton Live 10 Suite, or Ableton Live 10 with a Max For Live license

About the workshop leader

Simone Tanda is a musician, producer, multi-media artist, tech consultant, and educator.

Based across London & Berlin he is currently creating music for his own project, as well as multidisciplinary artists, film, and commercials.

Organizer

Music Hackspace

Venue

Online
< > March
M T W T F S S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31

Upcoming Events
Past Events