fbpx
Loading Events

Live Coding Sound with TidalCycles – LIVE Session

Wednesday 10th March 6pm GMT

Date & Time: Wednesday 10th March 10am PST / 1pm EST / 6pm GMT / 7pm CET.

Level: Beginner

Live coding is the act of manipulating algorithms in real time to change an ongoing artistic process, like music or visuals. In this workshop, we will begin with an introduction to live coding, highlighting various technologies and artists, before learning how to live code sound using TidalCycles. This workshop aims to provide an introduction to live coding to encourage others to incorporate live coding technologies and techniques into their practice.

Session Learning Outcomes

By the end of this session, a successful student will be able to:

  • Create a variety of patterns

  • Use functions to vary sequences

  • Add effects to manipulate and process sounds

  • Identify various technologies and practitioners of live coding

Session Study Topics

  • An introduction to various live coding technologies and artists:

    • Sonic Pi

    • TidalCycles

    • FoxDot

    • Hydra

  • How to create various patterns and sequences

  • Functions for varying sequences

  • How to add effects to sound

Requirements

  • A computer and internet connection

  • A web cam and mic

  • A Zoom account

TidalCycles
Software to download:

Note: To run TidalCycles on your machine, you will need to install software in addition to the applications/packages listed above. Follow these instructions to see how to do this on your machine.

To use an online version of TidalCycles (*no installation required):

Visit the Estuary Live Coding Server. Select ‘MiniTidal’ as your language of choice.

About the workshop leader 

Melody Loveless is an artist, creative technologist, and educator based in Brooklyn, NYC. Her work ranges from live coding performance, generative sound installations, multisensory performance, and more. She currently teaches at Hunter College and Harvestworks and is part of Cycling 74’s Max Certified Trainer Program.

Organizer

Music Hackspace

Venue

Online
< > March
M T W T F S S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31

Upcoming Events
Past Events