fbpx
Loading Events

Getting Started with Sonic Pi – LIVE Session

Monday 13th September 6pm UK

Date & Time: Monday 13th September 6pm UK / 7pm Berlin / 10am LA / 1pm NYC

Length 2-hours

Level: Beginner

Sonic Pi is a live coding synth for live performance and music making. This workshop aims to provide you with basic skills to begin exploring live coding and making music in Sonic Pi.

Session Learning Outcomes

By the end of this session a successful student will be able to:

  • Play samples

  • Play pitches and scales using Sonic Pi’s built in synthesizers

  • Learn basic timing principles

  • Alter sounds using effects and more

Session Study Topics

  • Samples: playing built-in samples and import your own

  • Synths: Play pitches using MIDI pitches or traditional scales

  • Timing: Basic timing, working with longer loops, repeating sequences, and cueing/syncing multiple loops

  • Altering sounds by redefining parameters and adding effects

Requirements:

  • A computer and internet connection

  • A webcam and mic

  • A Zoom account

About the workshop leader

Melody Loveless is an artist, creative technologist, and educator based in Brooklyn, NYC. Her work ranges from live coding performance, generative sound installations, multisensory performance, and more. She has taught at various institutes across NYC including NYU, the New School, Hunter College, and Harvestworks and is part of Cycling 74’s Max Certified Trainer Program.

< > September
M T W T F S S
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30

Upcoming Events
Past Events