Loading Events

Getting started with Max: March Series

Get started learning interactive music and video with Max in this series of 4 FREE workshops.

Course Instructor: Phelan Kane

Course level

Get started with interactive audio and MIDI, and discover the possibilities of the Max environment. In this series of workshops, you will learn how to manipulate audio, MIDI, virtual instruments and program your own interactive canvas.

#

Connect together Max’s building blocks to create unexpected results, and use them in your music productions. Through a series of guided exercises you will engage in the pragmatic creation of a basic MIDI sequencer device that features a wealth of musical manipulation options.

#

Learn from guided examples and live interactions with teachers and other participants.

What you'll learn

  • Session 1: Understand the Max environment
  • Session 2: Connect building blocks together and work with data
  • Session 3: Master the user interface
  • Session 4: Work with your MIDI instruments

Requirements

  • A computer and internet connection
  • A good working knowledge of computer systems
  • Access to a copy of Max 8

Course content

  • ---- Session 1 Part 1
  • ---- Session 1 Part 2
  • ---- Session 1 Patches.zip
  • ---- Session 01 Gettng Start with Max
  • ---- Session 02 Getting Started with Max
  • ---- Session 2 Patches.zip
  • ---- Session 2 Part 1
  • ---- Session 2 Part 2
  • ---- Important notice for PST & EST time-zones ONLY
  • ---- Session 3: Wednesday 17th March - 6pm GMT / 7pm CET / 11am PST / 2pm EST
  • ---- Open the course in Zoom to access all the features
  • ---- Session 03 Getting Start with Max
  • ---- Session 3 Patches.zip
  • ---- Important notice for PST & EST time-zones ONLY
  • ---- Session 4: Wednesday 24th March - 6pm GMT / 7pm CET / 11am PST / 2pm EST
  • ---- Open the course in Zoom to access all the features
  • ---- Session 04 Getting Started with Max
  • ---- Session 4 Patches.zip

Who is this course for

  • This series of online workshops aims to enable you to work with Max confidently on your own.

Useful links

About the workshop leader

Phelan Kane is a Berlin & London based music producer, engineer, artist, developer and educator. He is currently running the electronic music record label Meta Junction Recordings and the audio software development company Meta Function. He has released the Max for Live device synth Wave Junction in partnership with Sonicstate. http://metafunction.co.uk/ http://phelankane.com/bio/