Loading Events

Composition with Bach in Max

Learn to compose music with the free Bach external in Max.

Course Instructor: James Wilkie

Course level

Music Hackspace

Starts on: 25/08/2022 16:00 BST

{{ distance }}

...

Unlock full course & much more:

Going Deeper

Compare membership plans

Or just buy this single course:

£ 30

Thursday 25th August 4pm UK, 5pm Berlin, 8am LA, 11am NYC

This workshop is live, and a recording will be made available on-demand a few days after the live date. 

Bach brings music notation inside Max. You can generate, edit, script, modify and play your scores either with mouse and keyboard or through patching. In this workshop you will write, generate and modify your own scores intuitively and interactively in Bach via Max.

What you'll learn

  • Build [BACH] abstractions which create MIDI files containing automated permutations of a played motif to throw back into your favorite DAW
  • Design a [BACH] “compliment” permutator abstraction which offers the alternatives to a given motif
  • Use MIDI files to extrapolate vertical and linear compliments of a tone row or motif
  • Create [Coll] based translators to automate note to MIDI translation

Requirements

  • A computer and internet connection
  • A web cam and mic
  • A Zoom account
  • Access to a copy of Max 8 (i.e. trial or full license)
  • The Bach external installed (linked in useful links section below)

Course content

  • ---- Composition with Bach in Max / Aug 25, 2022 04:00 PM London
  • ---- Open the workshop in Zoom to access all the features

Who is this course for

  • Musicians looking to compose in Max
  • Composers interested in using notation in Max

Useful links

https://www.bachproject.net/dl/

About the workshop leader