Loading Events

Arcologies: a workshop for Monome norns & grid

Saturday 10th October

Live workshop online – Saturday 10th October 6pm UK / 10am PDT / 1pm EDT

For Monome norns and grid, arcologies is a 21st century instrument for musical composition and discovery. Built by Tyler as a “2020 pandemic sanity project” and released in September it has already attracted passionate following.

Through a series of “breakout-room” team challenges you will learn how to build and sculpt evolving sound compositions with Arcologies.

We’ll cover signal flow, melodies, chords, and evolving systems with modulation, euclidean rhythms, and Turing machines.

Topics

  • Electronic music composition techniques.
  • Generative music.
  • monome norns
  • monome grid

Requirements

About the workshop leader

Tyler Etters is a polymath-artist currently residing in Los Angeles. His uniquely 21st century practice encompasses a range of mediums including music, film, analog photography, and software design. He is Vice President at Highland and received his BFA in Graphic Design from Columbia College Chicago.

Links

https://tyleretters.github.io/arcologies-docs/

https://nor.the-rn.info

Share this post

Details

When:
October 10
18:00 - 20:00
Add to Google Calendar
Add to iCal
Cost:
£35
Event Categories:
, ,
Event Tags:
Website:
https://musichackspace.myshopify.com/cart/34252454297732:1?channel=buy_button

Venue

Online

Organizer

Music Hackspace